Practice Area Details

Governmental Law

Chasan Lamparello Mallon & Cappuzzo has specialized experience in public entity representation.  We presently serve as corporation counsel to The Township of North Bergen, North Hudson Regional Fire and Rescue, the Town of Secaucus, and the Bergen County Improvement Authority.  We also serve as labor and employment counsel to the Passaic Valley Sewerage Commissioners.  As special litigation counsel, we appear as attorneys for the State of New Jersey, the County of Bergen, the County of Hudson and multiple municipalities, including the City of Newark, the City of Paterson, the City of Bayonne, the City of Linden, the City of Hackensack, and the City of Union City.

Our governmental law litigation representation covers the spectrum from prosecution of claims by a public entity to defense of claims against a public entity.  Our attorneys appear in both federal and state courts in actions encompassing civil rights litigation, employment discrimination, first amendment issues, construction litigation, the Open Public Records Act and the Open Public Meetings Act, as well as various election issues.

As labor counsel to public entities, we negotiate collective bargaining agreements and prosecute disciplinary actions before administrative tribunals.  As general counsel, we present advice and guidance on all matters affecting the public entity under controlling New Jersey and federal law.  In the burgeoning field of school law, our expertise as general counsel to boards of education has provided us with the ability to extend representation in all aspects of the field, including public contract’s law, labor negotiation and disciplinary hearings.


City of Bayonne
County of Bergen
Bergen County Improvement Authority
Borough of Dumont
City of Hackensack
City of Hoboken
Hoboken Housing Authority
County of Hudson
County of Morris
City of Newark
Township of North Bergen
Borough of Northvale

North Hudson Regional Fire & Rescue
Passaic Valley Sewerage Commissioners
City of Passaic
City of Paterson
City of Perth Amboy
Borough of Ridgefield
Borough of Roselle
Town of Secaucus
Secaucus Municipal Utilities Authority
City of Union City
Union City Housing Authority